WWIG logo


  about us  

April 4, 2013

23 Women Receive Scholarships for WWIG Graduate Seminar

Twenty-three women have received full scholarships to participate in Wisconsin Women in Government's 13 th Annual Public Policy Graduate Seminar program. The six-week course began January 19th.

Offered in cooperation with the La Follette Institute of Public Affairs at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the goal of WWIG’s Graduate Seminar is to give management and leadership training to women currently working in state and local government and to women working in the private sector who interact with government.

“We are pleased to offer this leadership training to women who are committed to continued careers in Wisconsin government,” said Lisa Schultz, WWIG President. “We have a terrific group of women once again this year, and this graduate course is a wonderful opportunity for them to gain management, networking, and leadership skills.”

The 23 women receiving full scholarships this year are:

  • Holly O. Audley, Wisconsin Department of Corrections
  • Daisy C. Chase, Dodge Correctional Institution
  • Erin Fabrizius, Blumenfeld & Associates
  • Jennifer Hagner, Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority
  • Marlys Howe, Dane County District Attorney Office
  • Lisa Jeschke, Wisconsin Department of Corrections
  • Cassandra Jurenci, Senator Fred A. Risser
  • Megan McDermott, Wisconsin Department of Children and Families
  • Michelle “Shelle” Michalak, AFSCME
  • LaShana M. Miller, Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development
  • Laura Noel, City of Madison
  • Theresa M. Owens, Wisconsin Supreme Court
  • Heather M. Paulsen, Wisconsin Department of Corrections
  • Deborah L. Rathermel, Wisconsin Department of Health Services
  • Angelita Marie Renteria, Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
  • Erika J. Ryerson, Office of State Employment Relations
  • Janet Sausen, Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development
  • Lauri L. Schwartz, City of Madison Police Department
  • Erin E. Thorvaldson, Wisconsin Department of Corrections
  • Melissa (Missy) A. VanLanduyt, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
  • Mandy Wright, 85th Assembly District
  • Elizabeth A. Yszenga, City of Madison – Community Development Authority
  • Theresa Zenchenko, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

The Graduate Seminar is a program fully funded by WWIG and offered in cooperation with the La Follette School of Public Affairs. It is funded through an annual banquet fundraiser, attended by 1,000 state and local elected officials, business leaders, public servants, and political enthusiasts.

Every year, WWIG awards scholarships to women pursuing undergraduate study in government, sponsors the Graduate Seminar, sponsors the Bonnie Reese Legislative Scholarship, provides scholarships to the young woman elected Governor of Badger Girls State (BGS) and 22 girls to attend BGS. WWIG also offers leadership seminars to help women across the state with career and professional development.